Bull Pen Cottage

From £953

23rd Feb 2019 - 2nd Mar 2019

A large and impressively furnished stone barn conversion in Hawkshead, Bull Pen is a pet friendly, Lake District holiday cottage that sleeps 10 on the rural Greythwaite Estate. Guests enjoy access to the Estate heated indoor swimming pool, gym, and children's play area.

  • Active Cottages
  • Agency Cottages
  • Child Friendly Cottages
  • Cottages With a Pool
  • Countryside Cottages
  • Dog Friendly Cottages
  • Large Cottages
  • Remote Cottages
  • Lake District

About Bull Pen Cottage

  • Sleeps: 10
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 3

Graythwaite Cottages

Located on a beautiful, 5000-acre private country estate of diverse lake, forest, woodland and meadow landscapes, this charming courtyard of Victorian farm buildings, dating from 1890, sits in a superb central setting for a Lake District getaway to remember.

Each of these delightful Lake District cottages has been thoughtfully refurbished and retain much original character, well balanced with modern furnishings and set just one mile from the shores of Lake Windermere.

Each has been finished to a high standard, with most offering cosy open fires or woodburners to snuggle beside after a busy day. There’s a variety of holiday accommodation available, from cosy, romantic retreats to larger family-friendly properties. Many of these Lake District cottages share a pleasant patio garden and there are some wonderful on-site facilities to take advantage of, which include a fantastic indoor heated swimming pool, a fitness suite, table tennis room and a children’s play area. This magical estate offers an escape to another world with a 2.5-acre lake, just a 10-minute walk from the courtyard, which is well stocked with rainbow trout and boasts a serene setting for hazy afternoons spent fly fishing. During the spring and summer months, guests can roam Graythwaite Hall’s pretty gardens, which are open to the public, while all year round, the estate’s grounds provide a wonderland for all ages and offer plenty of places to stop for a picnic or enjoy a quiet stroll along the lakeshore or a gentle cycle along the traffic-free lanes that weave through the parkland countryside.

Outdoor adventure awaits from the very doorstep with the estate able to provide comprehensive walking maps and guides as well as arranging canoe hire, climbing and guided hikes along with a plethora of other adrenaline-fueled activities. Chug through the vivid scenery with a trip on the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway, just four miles away, which can only be outshined by a memorable cruise along the lake all the way to Bowness-on-Windermere, where a wealth of attractions and amenities await you. Graythwaite customers can also avail of a multitude of benefits for local services and attractions.

Enjoy discounted rates for Go Ape, mountain bike hire at Grizedale as well as a local catering company and delicious welcome packs with succulent, locally-sourced food. Delivery of milk and provisions can also be arranged, and the nearby Lakeside Hotel also offer a discount exclusively for Graythwaite customers. This group of Lake District properties provides an unforgettable escape, and is an excellent destination for a special holiday spent relaxing and enjoying the tranquil setting and fantastic on-site facilities. Booked together, the properties can accommodate 82 people.

Bull Pen itself is a wonderful, detached stone barn conversion, creating a large and beautifully furnished Cumbrian holiday cottage in the Graythwaite Estate’s central courtyard.

Renovated to a high standard in a rural location, this impressive rental cottage provides spacious and comfortable accommodation for up to ten guests.

Bull Pen offers an attractive open plan living area, complete with woodburner, and benefits from three bathrooms, making this a perfect cottage for large groups.

Enjoy a leisurely one-mile walk to the estate’s private frontage on the shores of Lake Windermere or work up an appetite in the on-site fitness suite and swimming pool, before sampling some local Lakeland produce in the vibrant towns and villages close by.

Accommodation comprises:

  • Five bedrooms:

    • 1 x ground floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC

    • 1 x double

    • 3 x twin.

    • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC.

    • Shower room with shower, basin and WC. Open plan living area with kitchen with breakfast bar (seats 3), dining area and sitting area with woodburner.

Amenities

  • Electric central heating with woodburner

  • 2 x electric ovens, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, shared use of tumble dryer in table tennis room, dishwasher

  • TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi

  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent

  • Kindling available £4/bag

  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent

  • Travel cot and highchair

  • Ample off road parking

  • Patio with furniture and shared use of courtyard patio with furniture and BBQ

  • Shared use of estate grounds and facilities inc. indoor heated swimming pool, table tennis room, children's play area, fitness suite and 2.5-acre trout fishing lake

  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome

  • Sorry, no smoking

  • Shops 4 miles, pubs 2 miles

Notes:

  1. Water from private supply, fed from freshwater lake

  2. Fitness suite charged at £20/guest/week (£15 for short breaks), payable on site

  3. Pool open 8.45am – 7.30pm daily, with shower, 2 x WC and limited changing facilities

  4. Licence required for fishing, equipment can be hired locally, fishing FOC unless catch is made, then small fee applicable

  5. Limited mobile signal

Bull Pen Cottage Availability Calendar

Per Night Per Week From To
From £284 From £953 Sat 23rd February 2019 Sat 2nd March 2019
From £284 From £953 Sat 2nd March 2019 Sat 9th March 2019
From £284 From £953 Sat 9th March 2019 Sat 16th March 2019
From £284 From £1040 Sat 16th March 2019 Sat 23rd March 2019
From £284 From £942 Sat 23rd March 2019 Sat 30th March 2019
From £284 From £971 Sat 30th March 2019 Sat 6th April 2019
From £604 From £2249 Sat 6th April 2019 Sat 13th April 2019
From £703 From £2622 Sat 13th April 2019 Sat 20th April 2019
From £604 From £2249 Sat 20th April 2019 Sat 27th April 2019
From £363 From £1531 Sat 27th April 2019 Sat 4th May 2019
From £379 From £1495 Sat 4th May 2019 Sat 11th May 2019
From £399 From £1574 Sat 11th May 2019 Sat 18th May 2019
From £400 From £1580 Sat 18th May 2019 Sat 25th May 2019
From £793 From £2637 Sat 25th May 2019 Sat 1st June 2019
From £486 From £1705 Sat 1st June 2019 Sat 8th June 2019
From £498 From £1745 Sat 8th June 2019 Sat 15th June 2019
From £621 From £2179 Sat 15th June 2019 Sat 22nd June 2019
From £628 From £2205 Sat 22nd June 2019 Sat 29th June 2019
From £608 From £2136 Sat 29th June 2019 Sat 6th July 2019
From £611 From £2146 Sat 6th July 2019 Sat 13th July 2019
From £626 From £2197 Sat 13th July 2019 Sat 20th July 2019
From £638 From £2239 Sat 20th July 2019 Sat 27th July 2019
From £1148 From £3442 Sat 27th July 2019 Sat 3rd August 2019
From £1209 From £3625 Sat 3rd August 2019 Sat 10th August 2019
From £1035 From £3104 Sat 10th August 2019 Sat 17th August 2019
From £1024 From £3070 Sat 17th August 2019 Sat 24th August 2019
From £803 From £2407 Sat 24th August 2019 Sat 31st August 2019
From £632 From £2101 Sat 31st August 2019 Sat 7th September 2019
From £483 From £1695 Sat 7th September 2019 Sat 14th September 2019
From £397 From £1391 Sat 14th September 2019 Sat 21st September 2019
From £393 From £1377 Sat 21st September 2019 Sat 28th September 2019
From £409 From £1431 Sat 28th September 2019 Sat 5th October 2019
From £432 From £1294 Sat 5th October 2019 Sat 12th October 2019
From £443 From £1329 Sat 12th October 2019 Sat 19th October 2019
From £489 From £1465 Sat 19th October 2019 Sat 26th October 2019
From £763 From £2289 Sat 26th October 2019 Sat 2nd November 2019
From £284 From £1400 Sat 2nd November 2019 Sat 9th November 2019
From £284 From £1439 Sat 9th November 2019 Sat 16th November 2019
From £284 From £1459 Sat 16th November 2019 Sat 23rd November 2019
From £284 From £1350 Sat 23rd November 2019 Sat 30th November 2019
From £284 From £1052 Sat 30th November 2019 Sat 7th December 2019
From £284 From £1052 Sat 7th December 2019 Sat 14th December 2019
From £284 From £1052 Sat 14th December 2019 Sat 21st December 2019
From £938 From £2814 Sat 21st December 2019 Sat 28th December 2019
From £878 From £2633 Sat 28th December 2019 Sat 4th January 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 4th January 2020 Sat 11th January 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 11th January 2020 Sat 18th January 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 18th January 2020 Sat 25th January 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 25th January 2020 Sat 1st February 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 1st February 2020 Sat 8th February 2020
From £361 From £1082 Sat 8th February 2020 Sat 15th February 2020
From £458 From £1372 Sat 15th February 2020 Sat 22nd February 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 22nd February 2020 Sat 29th February 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 29th February 2020 Sat 7th March 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 7th March 2020 Sat 14th March 2020
From £289 From £1070 Sat 14th March 2020 Sat 21st March 2020
From £289 From £1070 Sat 21st March 2020 Sat 28th March 2020
From £289 From £1070 Sat 28th March 2020 Sat 4th April 2020
From £858 From £2573 Sat 4th April 2020 Sat 11th April 2020
From £858 From £2573 Sat 11th April 2020 Sat 18th April 2020
From £772 From £2315 Sat 18th April 2020 Sat 25th April 2020
From £525 From £1575 Sat 25th April 2020 Sat 2nd May 2020
From £568 From £1703 Sat 2nd May 2020 Sat 9th May 2020
From £598 From £1793 Sat 9th May 2020 Sat 16th May 2020
From £582 From £1744 Sat 16th May 2020 Sat 23rd May 2020
From £905 From £2715 Sat 23rd May 2020 Sat 30th May 2020
From £585 From £1754 Sat 30th May 2020 Sat 6th June 2020
From £599 From £1796 Sat 6th June 2020 Sat 13th June 2020
From £748 From £2242 Sat 13th June 2020 Sat 20th June 2020
From £757 From £2269 Sat 20th June 2020 Sat 27th June 2020
From £733 From £2199 Sat 27th June 2020 Sat 4th July 2020
From £737 From £2209 Sat 4th July 2020 Sat 11th July 2020
From £754 From £2261 Sat 11th July 2020 Sat 18th July 2020
From £768 From £2304 Sat 18th July 2020 Sat 25th July 2020
From £913 From £2739 Sat 25th July 2020 Sat 1st August 2020
From £894 From £2682 Sat 1st August 2020 Sat 8th August 2020
From £921 From £2763 Sat 8th August 2020 Sat 15th August 2020
From £860 From £2580 Sat 15th August 2020 Sat 22nd August 2020
From £826 From £2477 Sat 22nd August 2020 Sat 29th August 2020
From £826 From £2477 Sat 29th August 2020 Sat 5th September 2020
From £582 From £1744 Sat 5th September 2020 Sat 12th September 2020
From £477 From £1431 Sat 12th September 2020 Sat 19th September 2020
From £473 From £1417 Sat 19th September 2020 Sat 26th September 2020
From £456 From £1367 Sat 26th September 2020 Sat 3rd October 2020
From £444 From £1331 Sat 3rd October 2020 Sat 10th October 2020
From £456 From £1367 Sat 10th October 2020 Sat 17th October 2020
From £503 From £1507 Sat 17th October 2020 Sat 24th October 2020
From £786 From £2356 Sat 24th October 2020 Sat 31st October 2020
From £361 From £1082 Sat 31st October 2020 Sat 7th November 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 7th November 2020 Sat 14th November 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 14th November 2020 Sat 21st November 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 21st November 2020 Sat 28th November 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 28th November 2020 Sat 5th December 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 5th December 2020 Sat 12th December 2020
From £289 From £1082 Sat 12th December 2020 Sat 19th December 2020
From £289 From £3920 Sat 19th December 2020 Sat 26th December 2020
From £966 From £2897 Wed 23rd December 2020 Wed 30th December 2020
From £904 From £2710 Wed 30th December 2020 Wed 6th January 2021

For more information on pricing, including weekend and midweek prices, please email your request or visit our website for further details.

Cottage
Bull Pen Cottage
Contact Name
Sykes Cottages
Tel
01244 646494
Book Now Check Availability
Help and Feedback